What I Learned in Disease and Society.

I’m going to miss having Disease and Society in my school day. It was a relaxed elective that still managed to be informative. Its entire curriculum of project based learning was a new experience for me. I was used to a focus on individual learning and tests and quizzes as knowledge assessments. This class valued freedom of expression and critical, out-of-the-box thinking as opposed to more structured paper and pen skills that are likely inapplicable in daily life. Group work in these project teams was occasionally rough but most cases turned out alright. The class researched everything from smallpox to obesity to STDs and poverty. We also wrote a lot, and although sometimes it felt like a pain to do, I know that updating this blog daily has made it a lot easier to write spontaneously. It’s always a good skill to have for the future and I’m grateful to this class for helping improve on it.

Leave a Reply

